No 57 The Stang (and No 51 Tan Hill) – 100 Greatest Climbs

I don’t normally do a blog post for every climb I do on the list but The Stang was a bit of an achievement.  It was the first one on the list that I have ridden from bottom to top without stopping.

Now you may not think this is that good but last year I was 2 stone heavier and would do anything to avoid hills and now I go actively looking for them.  I don’t know why but I do… I kind of enjoy the pain.

FullSizeRender

The first part of the climb was tough but then following a short downhill section it was just pretty steady, never really getting above 12% as I churned my way to the top.  But the best part about getting to the top is going down…

After that it was straight on to Tan Hill, a long 6 mile morning slog to the highest Inn in the British Isles.

FullSizeRender 2

So that was two 100 Greatest Climbs, back to back, in a day.  No wonder I could barely make it up the little hills on the way back to Reeth.  Still, it was all worth it and now that’s 8 down, 92 to go.  Think I’ll try a few in West Yorkshire over the coming weeks, I’m keeping away from The Dales for a while!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

