Broken Politics – Why I Didn’t Vote

I didn’t vote and I shall tell you why:  Politics is broken.  Richmond Yorks is my local constituency and it is one of the strongest Conservative seats in the country.  My vote would not make a difference.

 

I have struggled this election to trust any party.  The Conservative and Labour policies both have major flaws in my opinion.  The Conservatives are self-serving and Labour seem to jump on any bandwagon regardless of value to the electorate.  I couldn’t bring myself to vote UKIP despite their manifesto being the only one with detailed costings and the Liberals aren’t really a choice of change, as the results this morning have proved.

Where does that leave me?  It leaves me in a position where I have no one to vote for in a constituency where a vote is worthless if you don’t vote Tory.  I wonder how many people feel like me up and down the country?  It really is a time for electoral change.

2 comments

  1. If you feel that way, get involved. Stand for election. Do something. I agree the system’s crap but if you don’t try and do something to change it, you’re not part of then solution…

    1. I would love to try but I’m at a loss as to how. There is an air of change around, hopefully first past the post might be coming to an end.

      Thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

