Film Review – The Woman In Black

I was looking forward to being thrilled by Daniel Radcliffe’s non Potter debut and maybe that was my problem – I was anticipating a brilliant film. The story is quaint, Radcliffe, a widower, goes to work in a remote northern village where the residents are secretive and ends up in a scary old house. It just lacked that final piece of the puzzle to make it work, and for me it totally fell down due to this.

It was scary in just parts, the story seemed to drag in places and it seemed like a big screen version of The League of Gentlemen at times but without the comedy. The conclusion to the tale, although slightly heart warming, was a little damp for me – I think that could be the fact that the film hadn’t made me care for any of the characters involved.

2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

